SB 1261 would impose a fine of between $25 and $99 for first offense. With fines increasing up to $200 for subsequent offenses. The Senate Committee on Transportation and Technology unanimously approved it on February 6, 2018. It now moves to the Senate Rules Committee.
Bob Karp on the issue: This is certainly an issue that almost everyone can agree upon. Arizona is only one of three remaining states to not have some sort of law on the books regarding texting while driving. There have been many avoidable tragedies that resulted in fatalities due to distract drivers on the cell phones. Texting is the absolute worst thing you can do while driving. SB 1261 is as step in the right direction starting with fines and also signage on roads leading into Arizona telling drivers that a texting while driving ban is the law.
My only concern is that the fines may be too small. I haven't seen that the state could revoke a driver's license for continued infractions. I am in favor of SB 1261 in its current form and will review it once it comes to a vote of the House.
I urge the public to voice your support for this bill by contacting your state representative.